February Wrap Up 2016~Erin

Hello again everyone! In the month of February I got a little reading done. Not as much as I would have liked but I was really busy this month.

The first thing I read this month was a play for my dramaturgy class called Big Love by Charles Mee. This play was based on an ancient Greek play called The Suppliants by Aeschylus. It was a very interesting play that focused on a lot of issues going on today like gender equality and what it means to be human. I gave it 5/5 stars on Goodreads. It’s hard to explain the play because it was so complex but I would highly recommend it if you like things that pose highly existential questions.

The next thing that I read was another play for my dramaturgy class called Arcadia by Tom Stoppard. This was another play that I still to this day do not fully understand. It is sort of a mystery because it is about characters in the present trying to figure out the actions of characters from the past. It switches from the past to the present and back again so keeping the characters straight was a challenge. Especially since their names were so complex. I gave it a 4/5 stars on Goodreads.

The third book I read this month was Scarlet by Marissa Meyer. This is the second book in The Lunar Chronicles series. I am loving this series! It is basically a futuristic retelling of different fairytales including cyborgs. This book focused on Scarlet (Little Red Riding Hood) but also included Cinder (Cinderella) who was introduced in the first book. The way the author weaves these characters’ stories together is fascinating. I gave this book 4/5 stars on Goodreads. I plan to read the third book Cress in the month of March.

The last thing I read in the month of February was Henry V by William Shakespeare. I read this for my British Literature class. I love anything Shakespeare so this play was really fun to read. It is a historical play about Henry V of England and the war between the French. I would categorize it as a tragicomedy because though it ends with a wedding between King Henry V and Princess Catherine of France, the ending chorus leaves the audience with what eventually happens with England, France, and Henry V’s son, and it is nothing good. I gave this play 4/5 stars on Goodreads.

This ends my February Wrap Up! Hope you guys are having a good reading month and have a wonderful March!

~Erin Johnson

Leave a comment